Home > Uncategorized > Red-lining in SEPA

“Redlining was not officially outlawed until 1968, by the Fair Housing Act. By then the damage was done—and reports of redlining by banks have continued.”

– Ta-Nehisi Coates

Redlining is the refusal to offer credit or insurance in certain neighborhoods

Fair Lending prohibits lenders from considering your race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status, or disability when applying for residential mortgage loans.
The Federal Fair Housing Act makes it unlawful to discriminate in the sale, rental, or financing of homes because of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status, or disability.

Anytime you’re denied a home loan or the terms and conditions are changed, you could be a victim of mortgage lending discrimination.

The following are examples of lending discrimination (if they are done on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion,sex, familial status, or disability):
– Refusal of a mortgage loan
– Refusal to provide information regarding mortgage loans
– Imposing different terms or conditions on a mortgage loan
– Discriminating in property appraisals
– Steering an applicant toward a bad mortgage loan
– Providing inferior servicing of your mortgage loan

If you’ve been a victim of lending discrimination, or would like to discuss an instance that you feel may have been discriminatory, please contact FHRC or fill out the survey below.

Have you had an account application denied by a bank? FHRC works to combat lending discrimination that fuels the segregation of our communities. Please fill out FHRC’s Banking Experience Survey. Thank you for participating.

Take our Survey